Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for Development Incentives Quarterly
Fall 2018
 

Seven Things to Consider Regarding “Sunshine Laws”

Considering a headquarters relocation or the construction of a new facility?  As you navigate seeking incentives for your projects, it is important to keep in mind that many of the public entities that you will be negotiating with are subject to various “sunshine laws” that could lead to public disclosure of your project before you are ready to have the information become public. Click here to read more.


Qualified Opportunity Zones: Proposed Regulations Provide Investors with Guidance on Several Important Questions

The federal Qualified Opportunity Zone (QOZ) program, enacted as part of overall tax reform at the end of 2017, has generated much interest among potential investors, project developers and others since its enactment. This program provides investors in low-income communities designated as QOZs, with the ability to defer and potentially eliminate capital gains. Congress left many details of the QOZ program to be addressed by the U.S. Treasury Department through regulations and other guidance. As a result, utilization of this program has been largely on hold as taxpayers have waited for Treasury guidance. Click here to read more.


Proposed Legislation in Ohio to Create Tax Credit for Opportunity Zone Investments

On August 29, 2018, House Speaker Pro Tempore Kirk Schuring introduced a bill (H.B. No. 727) to create a tax credit for investments in Qualified Opportunity Zones. If enacted, taxpayers investing at least $250,000 during a taxable year in an Ohio Qualified Opportunity Fund will earn a nonrefundable tax credit equal to 10% of the investment. Click here to read more.


 

Contacts

William D.G. Baldwin
513.723.4030
wdbaldwin@vorys.com

Karen H. Bauernschmidt
216.479.6141
khbauernschmidt@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Kelly B. Bissinger
202.467.8856
kbbissinger@vorys.com

Bryan H. Falk
216.479.6124
bhfalk@vorys.com

Nicholas R. House
216.479.6122
nrhouse@vorys.com

Christopher J. Knezevic
614.464.5627
cjknezevic@vorys.com

Joseph B. Mann
614.464.6313
jbmann@vorys.com

Jacinto A. Núñez
330.208.1046
janunez@vorys.com

J. Theodore Smith
614.464.6232
jtsmith@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Jonathan K. Stock
614.464.5647
jkstock@vorys.com

Jill S. Tangeman
614.464.5608
jstangeman@vorys.com

Kristin L. Woeste
513.723.4684
klwoeste@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This newsletter is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.