Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for The Evaluator
August 2018
 

Time Is Running Out to File Appeals in Nine States

Taxpayers seeking to contest the values established by the auditor or county assessor have a short time-to contest their new valuation. This time frame varies by state and by local jurisdiction and in many cases begins to run upon mailing of a new value notice.  Learn more about states with upcoming appeal deadlines.


Multistate Review of Property Tax Decisions and Developments

Recently, there have been several notable decisions from courts and tax boards in jurisdictions across the country including Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Colorado, Tennessee, Minnesota, Indiana and North Carolina. These decisions related to numerous real estate tax areas including exemptions and assessments. Read more about these decisions.


About Us

Our lawyers have significant experience in all aspects of state and local taxation. Our real property tax practice includes the management and oversight of our clients’ properties across the country. These engagements range from single-state engagements to nationwide portfolio management for clients with hundreds of locations in all 50 states. Learn more here.


 

Contacts

Nicholas M.J. Ray
614.464.5640
nmray@vorys.com

Karen H. Bauernschmidt
216.479.6141
khbauernschmidt@vorys.com

Kenneth R. West
202.467.8814
krwest@vorys.com

David M. Aldous
412.904.7705
dmaldous@vorys.com

Lauren M. Johnson
614.464.5418
lmjohnson@vorys.com

Andrew E. DeBord
513.723.4024
aedebord@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Hilary J. Houston
614.464.4968
hjhouston@vorys.com

Steven L. Smiseck
614.464.5438
slsmiseck@vorys.com

Anthony L. Ehler
614.464.8282
tlehler@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This alert is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.