Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for Development Incentives Quarterly
Summer 2021
 

American Rescue Plan Funds

On March 11, 2021, President Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (H.R. 1319) (ARP) into law. The $1.9 trillion package is intended to combat the COVID-19 pandemic, including the public health and economic impacts.  As a part of the ARP, the government has allocated $350 billion for “Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds.”  Click here to learn more.


How PE Firms’ Portfolio Companies Can Use Economic Development Incentives to Help Grow the Bottom Line

Private equity firms acquire portfolio companies to increase the acquired company’s value and earn a return on the investment through a sale.  Private equity firms’ portfolio companies are often engaged in activity that qualifies the operating business for economic development incentives, and using economic development incentives advances those goals.  Opportunities to utilize incentives arise in both the acquisition and disposition of businesses, as well as during efforts to optimize operations. Click here to learn more.


Lessons from EDI Litigation

When parties enter into an agreement for an economic development incentive, it’s almost always with a sense of optimism.  For the political subdivision or economic development organization, it typically means winning a new project with the promise of good paying jobs and new investment.  For the company developing the project, it frequently means the award of key economic development incentives to make the project successful. Click here to learn more.


 

Contacts

William D.G. Baldwin
513.723.4030
wdbaldwin@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Kelly B. Bissinger
202.467.8844
kbbissinger@vorys.com

Sean P. Byrne
614.464.8247
spbyrne@vorys.com

Bryan H. Falk
216.479.6124
bhfalk@vorys.com

Kimberly Weber Herlihy
614.464.8283
kwherlihy@vorys.com

Nicholas R. House
216.479.6122
nrhouse@vorys.com

Barbara J. Jordan
614.464.5484
bjjordan@vorys.com

Christopher J. Knezevic
614.464.5627
cjknezevic@vorys.com

Joseph B. Mann
614.464.6313
jbmann@vorys.com

Jacinto A. Núñez
330.208.1046
janunez@vorys.com

J. Theodore Smith
614.464.6232
jtsmith@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Jonathan K. Stock
614.464.5647
jkstock@vorys.com

Jill S. Tangeman
614.464.5608
jstangeman@vorys.com

Kristin L. Woeste
513.723.4684
klwoeste@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use and Disclaimer

 

This newsletter is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.