Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for The Evaluator
Winter 2021
 

Valuation Analyses - January 2021

CALIFORNIA APPELLATE COURT AFFIRMS REASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY THAT WAS SUBJECT TO A TRANSFER BETWEEN A CORPORATION AND A FAMILY TRUST

A California appellate court has affirmed a trial court decision that upheld the Los Angeles County Assessor’s reassessment of a property, which was subject to a transfer between a corporation and a Trust that owned all of the voting stock in the corporation.

assets/htmlimages/Read%20more_button.JPG

OHIO COURT AND BOARD OF TAX APPEALS DETERMINE EVIDENCE NOT SUFFICIENT TO ADJUST VALUE BASED UPON PURPORTED MEMBERSHIP TRANSFERS

In two unrelated cases, the Cleveland Municipal School District Board of Education “BOE” filed increase cases alleging that an increase was warranted based upon an entity transfer.

assets/htmlimages/Read%20more_button.JPG

INDIANA TAX COURT UPHOLDS BOARD OF REVIEW’S DECISION FINDING THE COST APPROACH TO BE THE BEST INDICATION OF THE PROPERTY'S MARKET VALUE-IN-USE

This case involved the 2014-2017 valuation of a 194,860 square foot “big box” retail store built in 2014. The 2016 assessment was $11,878,900.

assets/htmlimages/Read%20more_button.JPG

WASHINGTON COURT OF APPEALS UPHOLDS CLASSIFICATION OF MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT AS REAL PROPERTY FIXTURES IN AFFIRMING VALUATION OF MANUFACTURING FACILITY

The Washington Court of Appeals upheld a superior court’s decision affirming the state Board of Tax Appeals (the “BTA”)’s valuation of a manufacturing facility, concluding that the BTA had correctly rejected the property owner’s appraisal and correctly classified the facility’s 18,000 items of machinery and equipment (“M&E”) as fixtures instead of personal property

assets/htmlimages/Read%20more_button.JPG

OTHER VALUATION HEADLINES FROM ACROSS THE COUNTRY (CLICK HERE TO READ MORE)

Indiana Tax Court Upholds Board of Review’s Decision Finding that Lowe’s Appraisal Evidence Lacked Probative Value

Massachusetts Appeals Court Affirms Tax Board’s Valuation of Cooperative Senior Housing Complex

Tennessee State Board of Equalization Grants a $9 Million Value Reduction for a Regional Mall

Wisconsin Court of Appeals Denied a Big-Box Retailer’s Request for a Lower Property Value

Pennsylvania Supreme Court Grants Autozone’s Request to Review Whether School District’s Monetary Threshold for Assessment Appeals Violates Constitution’s Uniformity Clause

Deadlines Looming in 15 States

  


 

Contacts

Nicholas M.J. Ray
614.464.5640
nmray@vorys.com

Andrew E. DeBord
513.723.4024
aedebord@vorys.com

Lauren M. Johnson
614.464.5418
lmjohnson@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Hilary J. Houston
614.464.4968
hjhouston@vorys.com

Steven L. Smiseck
614.464.5438
slsmiseck@vorys.com

John R. Conley
330.208.1172
jrconley@vorys.com

Megan Savage Knox
614.464.6380
msknox@vorys.com

Anthony L. Ehler
614.464.8282
tlehler@vorys.com

David A. Froling
614.464.3022
dafroling@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com

Steven R. Rech
713.588.7017
srech@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This alert is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.