Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for Development Incentives Quarterly
Summer 2020
 

Q&A with Kelli Saunders of DHL Supply Chain

Kelli SaundersIn this edition of Development Incentives Quarterly, we welcome Kelli Saunders, senior director of incentive and site selection of DHL Supply Chain in Westerville, Ohio.  DHL is the largest third-party logistics provider globally.  Kelli explains her role, the structure of DHL’s incentives department, and how the pandemic has affected her work.  Click here to learn more.




Public Records – For Major Incentives, a Michigan Case Shows Some Rules Can Be Rethought

By: Jonathan Stock

Public record requests commonly target major economic development incentives.  With awards of large scale tax credits or public funds under close scrutiny, journalists and citizens alike have historically directed a variety of public record requests to the public bodies responsible for granting them.  Click here to learn more.


Indemnification Provisions in Incentives Agreements:  Best Practices and Special Public Entity Issues

By Sean Byrne and Scott Ziance

Indemnification provisions are an important part of the fine print of many contracts.  These clauses generally operate to protect one party against the other party’s actions or failures to act that lead to a loss claimed by a third party (not a party to the contract).  A common example is the indemnification provisions (or entire agreements) used in the rental car setting.  Before you drive off the lot, the rental car company will require you indemnify (or protect) it against a third party (not you) bringing a claim due to you being in an accident.  Click here to learn more.


D.C. Council Opens the Door for D.C. to Join 18 Other States Providing Low-Income Housing Tax Credits

By Kelly Bissinger and Jay Surabian

On July 28, 2020, the Council of the District of Columbia unanimously passed the District of Columbia Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Clarification Amendment Act of 2020 (the Act) as a component of the Fiscal Year 2021 Budget Support Act of 2020 (B23-0760). The Act amends the Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Act of 2014 (the 2014 Act), which established a District of Columbia low-income housing tax credit (DC LIHTC) by, most importantly, making the DC LIHTC available as a matter of right to qualifying projects starting in the District of Columbia’s 2022 fiscal year.  Click here to learn more.


 

Contacts

William D.G. Baldwin
513.723.4030
wdbaldwin@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Kelly B. Bissinger
202.467.8844
kbbissinger@vorys.com

Sean P. Byrne
614.464.8247
spbyrne@vorys.com

Bryan H. Falk
216.479.6124
bhfalk@vorys.com

Nicholas R. House
216.479.6122
nrhouse@vorys.com

Barbara J. Jordan
614.464.5484
bjjordan@vorys.com

Christopher J. Knezevic
614.464.5627
cjknezevic@vorys.com

Joseph B. Mann
614.464.6313
jbmann@vorys.com

Jacinto A. Núñez
330.208.1046
janunez@vorys.com

J. Theodore Smith
614.464.6232
jtsmith@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Jonathan K. Stock
614.464.5647
jkstock@vorys.com

Jay A. Surabian
202.467.8849
jasurabian@vorys.com

Jill S. Tangeman
614.464.5608
jstangeman@vorys.com

Kristin L. Woeste
513.723.4684
klwoeste@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This newsletter is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.