Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for Development Incentives Quarterly
Fall 2019
 

Q&A: Thomas Bisacquino, President and CEO, NAIOP

In this edition of Development Incentives Quarterly, Thomas Bisacquino, the president and CEO of NAIOP, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, joins us for a Q&A.  Tom answers questions regarding the most pressing issues facing commercial developers nationally and locally.  NAIOP is the leading organization for developers, owners and related professionals in office, industrial, retail and mixed-use real estate. NAIOP comprises nearly 20,000 members in North America. Scott Ziance, who leads Vorys’ economic development incentives team, is concluding a two-year term as president of NAIOP of Ohio and is beginning a three-year term on the national NAIOP corporate board of directors in January.  Click here to read more.


Top 10 Things Every Tax Professional Should Understand About Opportunity Zones (Part 1)

By:  Sean Byrne

In this two-part series, we’ll cover the top 10 key points for tax professionals to understand about Opportunity Zones (OZs).  OZs were established by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 to provide an incentive to encourage long-term investments in low-income communities throughout the United States.  Click here to read more.


Kansas and Missouri End Incentives Border War

By:  Christopher Knezevic

Missouri Gov. Mike Parson and Kansas Gov. Laura Kelly took action to end a longstanding economic border war between the two states.  The governors signed an agreement on August 13, 2019 vowing to end the use of economic development incentives to lure companies across the state line in the Kansas City area that do not create net new jobs for the region.  Click here to learn more.


 

Contacts

William D.G. Baldwin
513.723.4030
wdbaldwin@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Kelly B. Bissinger
202.467.8844
kbbissinger@vorys.com

Bryan H. Falk
216.479.6124
bhfalk@vorys.com

Nicholas R. House
216.479.6122
nrhouse@vorys.com

Barbara J. Jordan
614.464.5484
bjjordan@vorys.com

Christopher J. Knezevic
614.464.5627
cjknezevic@vorys.com

Joseph B. Mann
614.464.6313
jbmann@vorys.com

Jacinto A. Núñez
330.208.1046
janunez@vorys.com

J. Theodore Smith
614.464.6232
jtsmith@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Jonathan K. Stock
614.464.5647
jkstock@vorys.com

Jay A. Surabian
202.467.8849
jasurabian@vorys.com

Jill S. Tangeman
614.464.5608
jstangeman@vorys.com

Kristin L. Woeste
513.723.4684
klwoeste@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This newsletter is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.