Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for The Evaluator
Summer 2019
 

Time is Running Out to File Tax Appeals in Nearly 10 States

Taxpayers seeking to contest the values established by the local assessor have a short time to contest their new valuation. This time frame varies by state and by local jurisdiction and in many cases begins to run upon mailing of a new value notice. To see a list click here.


Multistate Review of Property Tax Decisions and Developments

Since the last edition of The Evaluator, there have been several notable decisions from courts and tax boards; and legislative developments in jurisdictions across the country. Learn more about these important matters here.


About the Vorys Real Property Taxation Group

Our real property tax practice includes the management and oversight of our clients’ properties across the country. These engagements range from single-state engagements to nationwide portfolio management for clients with hundreds of locations; and our attorneys have represented matters in all 50 states, plus Puerto Rico and Canada. Our service offerings include traditional valuation review and litigation; tax exemption and/or tax incentive structuring, application and maintenance; processing of real property tax payments; assistance with tax accruals; and management of tax notices. In short, our service offerings are scalable to meet the real property tax needs of our clients to both manage the real property tax expense and planning as well as the administrative burdens associated with real property taxes.  To learn more, click here.


 

Contacts

Nicholas M.J. Ray
614.464.5640
nmray@vorys.com

Karen H. Bauernschmidt
216.479.6141
khbauernschmidt@vorys.com

Kenneth R. West
202.467.8814
krwest@vorys.com

David M. Aldous
412.904.7705
dmaldous@vorys.com

Lauren M. Johnson
614.464.5418
lmjohnson@vorys.com

Andrew E. DeBord
513.723.4024
aedebord@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Hilary J. Houston
614.464.4968
hjhouston@vorys.com

Steven L. Smiseck
614.464.5438
slsmiseck@vorys.com

Megan Savage Knox
614.464.6380
msknox@vorys.com

Anthony L. Ehler
614.464.8282
tlehler@vorys.com

David A. Froling
614.464.3022
dafroling@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This alert is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.