Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for The Evaluator
Winter 2019
 

Time to File Real Property Tax Complaints in Ohio for Tax Year 2018

The State of Ohio requires counties to reappraise real property tax values every six years. In the interim, the counties are required to update values in the middle of that cycle.  This cycle is not evenly distributed amongst Ohio’s 88 counties. For tax year 2018,  tax values were reappraised or updated in 24 counties.  Find additional details here.


Ohio Supreme Court and Board of Tax Appeals Decisions & Developments

The Ohio Supreme Court and the Ohio Board of Tax Appeals decided numerous real property tax cases in the final months of 2018.  These cases came from across the state and covered a wide variety of issues.  Read more.


Time is Running Out to File Appeals Across the Country

Taxpayers seeking to contest real property tax values established by assessing jurisdictions across the country often have a short window of opportunity to contest their new valuation.  This time frame varies by state and by local jurisdiction, and in many cases begins to run upon the mailing of a new value notice.  Learn more about states with upcoming appeal deadlines.


Multistate Review of Property Tax Decisions

Since the last edition of The Evaluator, there have been several notable decisions from courts and tax boards; and legislative developments in jurisdictions across the country.  Learn more about these important matters here.


About Us

Our lawyers have significant experience in all aspects of state and local taxation. Our real property tax practice includes the management and oversight of our clients’ properties across the country. These engagements range from single-state engagements to nationwide portfolio management for clients with hundreds of locations in all 50 states. Learn more here.


 

Contacts

Nicholas M.J. Ray
614.464.5640
nmray@vorys.com

Karen H. Bauernschmidt
216.479.6141
khbauernschmidt@vorys.com

Kenneth R. West
202.467.8814
krwest@vorys.com

David M. Aldous
412.904.7705
dmaldous@vorys.com

Lauren M. Johnson
614.464.5418
lmjohnson@vorys.com

Andrew E. DeBord
513.723.4024
aedebord@vorys.com

Lindsay Doss Spillman
216.479.6199
ldspillman@vorys.com

Hilary J. Houston
614.464.4968
hjhouston@vorys.com

Steven L. Smiseck
614.464.5438
slsmiseck@vorys.com

Megan Savage Knox
614.464.6380
msknox@vorys.com

Anthony L. Ehler
614.464.8282
tlehler@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This alert is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.