Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for The Bankers
Spring 2017
 

Wilson v. Lawrence: Ohio Supreme Court Upholds Strict Interpretation of Statute Governing Presentment of Claims Against Estates; Rejects Argument of Substantial Compliance

By Daniel J. Buckley, Lisa Babish Forbes, Elizabeth E.W. Weinewuth and Heather M. Lutz

Creditors of Ohio estates have little room for error under a decision handed down by the Supreme Court of Ohio on April 19, 2017. This decision is a striking announcement of strict construction of critical importance not only to creditors but also to executors and administrators of estates and the lawyers who represent them.  Read more.


What is a “High Volatility Commercial Real Estate” Loan, and How Does it Affect Your Ability to Lend?

By Robin K. Capozzi, Shane D. Sclichter and David M. Aldous

More and more, bankers are becoming familiar with the term "High Volatility Commercial Real Estate," or HVCRE for short. These bankers may sense that HVCRE has a dampening effect on their ability to lend to commercial real estate borrowers. But many bankers do not know (i) why we have the term HVCRE, (ii) what an HVCRE Loan is, and (ii) what effect HVCRE has on their ability to lend.  Read more.


Time Again for a Governance “Tune-up”

By Jeffery E. Smith

The financial services industry has seemingly passed out of the dark shadows of the post-2008 "crisis" period. Now, the "Trump Effect," as well as other factors, are influencing industry stock prices positively and generating a renewed interest in M&A and related matters in the financial services industry.  Read more.


Recent Court Decisions Affecting Lenders in Restructuring and Other Workout Matters

By Jeffrey A. Marks and Jeffrey W. Bieszczak

In a continuing effort to alert our lender clients and other friends to developments in the bankruptcy, restructuring, workout and creditors’ rights space, provided below is a summary of recent noteworthy court decisions.  Read more.


About the Vorys Banking Group

With nearly 20 lawyers dedicated to our banking practice, we have hundreds of years of combined practical, hands-on experience in the banking industry. We have been named a "Top Lead Legal Advisor" by American Banker magazine and a Go-To Law Firm® in banking and finance, securities and corporate transactions by Fortune 500 general counsel.

Our group has extensive experience with all aspects of bank corporate and regulatory legal matters, and our attorneys are in constant contact with senior representatives of state and federal banking agencies concerning a diverse variety of significant client matters. We have been intimately involved in the comprehensive rewrite of Ohio banking laws, currently underway with the Ohio Division of Financial Institutions. In fact, since the inception of this project, one of our lawyers, along with representatives from the Ohio Division of Financial Institutions and the Ohio Bankers League, has been a member of the four-person team tasked with handling the rewrite.

We represent public and non-public institutions, from community banks and thrifts to large, multinational financial institutions throughout the United States including clients in Ohio, Washington, D.C., Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, Arizona, Florida, Indiana, Michigan, Kentucky, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina and West Virginia.

We assist our clients with bank, thrift, holding company and non-bank affiliate formations; securities law matters; board governance and education; regulatory enforcement actions involving state and federal agencies; mergers, acquisitions and divestitures; branch acquisitions and divestitures; regulatory compliance; capitalization, recapitalization and private equity as well as debt transactions; litigation; employment law matters; executive compensation and benefit plans; tax matters; and the negotiation of all types of contracts. We also represent financial institutions and other institutional lenders, as well as borrowers, in all types of complex commercial and real estate financings, bankruptcies and restructurings.

If you have an idea for an article you would like us to pursue, please contact your Vorys attorney. We hope you enjoy the read.

To learn more, visit vorysfinancialservices.com


 

Contacts

David M. Aldous
412.904.7705
dmaldous@vorys.com

Blake C. Beachler
216.479.6140
bcbeachler@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Jeffrey W. Bieszczak
513.723.4498
jwbieszczak@vorys.com

Lauren A. Brown
513.723.4682
labrown@vorys.com

Daniel J. Buckley
513.723.4002
djbuckley@vorys.com

Robin K. Capozzi
412.904.7716
rkcapozzi@vorys.com

Elizabeth Turrell Farrar
614.464.5607
etfarrar@vorys.com

Jason L. Hodges
513.723.8590
jlhodges@vorys.com

Heather M. Lutz
216.479.6138
hmlutz@vorys.com

Jeffrey A. Marks
513.723.4482
jamarks@vorys.com

Michael D. Martz
614.464.6451
mdmartz@vorys.com

Kimberly J. Schaefer
513.723.4068
kjschaefer@vorys.com

Shane D. Sclichter
412.904.7715
sdsclichter@vorys.com

Jeffery E. Smith
614.464.5436
jesmith@vorys.com

J. Bret Treier
330.208.1015
jbtreier@vorys.com

Elizabeth E.W. Weinewuth
513.723.4486
eewweinewuth@vorys.com

Anthony D. Weis
614.464.5465
adweis@vorys.com

Frank C. Zonars
614.464.5638
fczonars@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This alert is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.