Our Firm Our Practice Our People Insights News & Events Careers Contact
Photo for Development Incentives Quarterly
Spring 2017
 

Top 10 TIF Misconceptions – Creating Additional Project Value and Avoiding Costly Mistakes

By: Scott Ziance

In this two-part series, we’ll cover the top 10 misconceptions associated with Ohio Tax Increment Financing (TIF). TIF is a funding vehicle for public infrastructure and sometimes site improvements. Read the first five misconceptions.


Significant 2016 Year-End Ohio Historic Preservation Tax Credit Developments

By: Joseph Mann

At the end of 2016, there were two significant developments related to Ohio Historic Preservation Tax Credits.  First, Substitute Senate Bill Number 235 was enacted. This bill granted a catalytic award to each person who had previously applied for a catalytic award for the fiscal year 2016-2017 biennium, and whose application was not previously approved. Prior to 2017, for each biennium period the Ohio Development Services Agency Director was authorized to make one award of up to $25 million to a “catalytic” project meeting certain criteria. In a second development, the Ohio General Assembly withdrew a proposal that would have eliminated Ohio’s state historic preservation tax credits. Learn more about each of these developments.


Recap: Vorys Ohio Economic Development Incentives Conference

On February 24, Vorys hosted its second annual Ohio Economic Development Incentives Conference for more than 120 developers, company representatives and community leaders. The presenters included Vorys attorneys, city and company leaders and experienced in-house incentives professionals.  The presentations covered a variety of topics, including the benefits and challenges of Ohio port authority transactions; working with small and medium-sized Ohio communities; information specific to developers and business operators; and what to look for in 2017 legislative sessions.

To learn more about the conference or to view the presentation materials, click here. If you’d like to be added to the invitation list for the 2018 conference, email ksallen@vorys.com.


Around the Web

Learning from Buffalo and Denver: Can Tax Credits Help Restore Polluted Sites?Oregon Metro News

Awards to Assist 18 Historic Rehabilitation Projects – Ohio Development Services Agency 

When It Comes to Tax Incentives, How Transparent Is Your City?GOVERNING 

Water Infrastructure Funding: Where Do We Go From Here? - WaterWorld

House Panel to Consider Proposed Changes to Investor Visa ProgramNational Law Review

MSRB Draft Rules Would Clarify CUSIPs Needed for Private PlacementsSourceMedia: Bond Buyer


 

Contacts

William D.G. Baldwin
513.723.4030
wdbaldwin@vorys.com

Aaron S. Berke
330.208.1017
asberke@vorys.com

Kelly B. Bissinger
202.467.8856
kbbissinger@vorys.com

Christopher J. Clements
614.464.5427
cjclements@vorys.com

Maurie J. Donnelly
614.464.5428
mjdonnelly@vorys.com

Bryan H. Falk
216.479.6124
bhfalk@vorys.com

Nicholas R. House
216.479.6122
nrhouse@vorys.com

Joseph B. Mann
614.464.6313
jbmann@vorys.com

Jacinto A. Núñez
330.208.1046
janunez@vorys.com

J. Theodore Smith
614.464.6232
jtsmith@vorys.com

Kristin L. Woeste
513.723.4684
klwoeste@vorys.com

Scott J. Ziance
614.464.8287
sjziance@vorys.com


 

 

Update Preferences  |  Forward to a colleague  |  Unsubscribe  |  Privacy Policy

 

This newsletter is for general information purposes and should not be regarded as legal advice. As always, please let us know if you want more information or have questions about how these developments apply to your situation.